Senate Executive Committee

Minutes of April 22, 2024 12:00 – 1:30 p.m. Clark 551

Present: Baur, Curry, Del Casino, Dukes, Faas, French, Fuentes-Martin, Kataoka, Multani, Sasikumar (Chair), Sullivan-Green, Teniente-Matson, Wong

Absent: Hart, McKee

Recorders: Julia Curry and Reiko Kataoka

- I. Approval of the agenda of April 22, 2024 (approved)
- II. Approval of the minutes of the meeting of April 8, 2024 (approved)
- III. Chair's Update
 - There might be an additional EC meeting on May 13th, noon to 1 pm.
 - A guest presenter Janet Sundrud from the CSR will join the meeting today.
 - SJSU's Legacy of Poetry is celebrated during this National Poetry Week.
- IV. President's update: No update. It immediately moved to Q-A.
 - Q: There seems to be a plan to impose a fee for students to attend commencement, with two alternatives a smaller fee for all students or charge beyond 1-2 free tickets.
 - A: There is no proposal on the table. Revenue comes from tickets. University Advancement is exploring the cost and options.

Comment: ASCSU has just raised this issue.

Response: Majority of the CSU campuses have commencement fees.

Comment: Tuition fee was just raised. This additional raise on students is concerning.

V. Presentation of the Naming Committee Recommendations - by VP for University Advancement, Judy Nagai

Vice President for University Advancement Judy Nagai presented the recommendations of the Naming Committee for the naming of the two rooms of the Charles W. Davidson College of Engineering, occasioned by philanthropic gifts from individual and corporate donors as follows:

1. Engineering Room 495 to be named as The Vy and Timothy Li Laboratory for Human Factors Research.

2. Industrial Studies Room 117 to be named as **The LitePoint Wireless** Communications and Electronics Lab.

The EC members asked questions such as the type of donation, usage of the donation, and conditions of naming.

A motion to approve the first proposal was made (Multani), seconded, and approved by unanimous vote.

A motion to approve the second proposal was made (Multani), seconded, and approved by unanimous vote.

VI. Discussion of the amendments to the Constitution and Bylaws of the Senate – by Co-Chair of the CSR Janet Sundrud

The Co-Chair of the Committee on Senate Representation, Janet Sundrud presented the amendments to the Constitution and Bylaws of the Senate, as proposed by the CSR. In addition to the structural changes presented and discussed previously, there were three new clauses, each is intended to:

- 1. Allow faculty senators to serve without conflict with their other university obligations, such as teaching;
- 2. allow time for service work for staff senators and ensure independent opinions are voiced by staff in the senate; and
- 3. foster broader consultation with bodies representing lecturers.

Suggestions for improvement were offered, which would be reflected in the revised recommendations.

Further discussions and questions:

- Q: The proposed change would create several more faculty seats. How would those seats be distributed? What would be the impact on the General Unit?
- A: When Unit 4 SSP members make their own unit, the General Unit will be smaller in size. The new seat distribution can be calculated for continued discussions.
- Q: Who are the Unit 3 members other than the T/TT and lecturer faculty?
- A: Coaches, counselors, and librarians

Comment: Library could be an independent unit.

Comment: Current criteria (50 FTEF and at least three departments) might be reexamined. There are smaller colleges that have many students.

- Q: Could the recommendations be split into a series of multiple recommendations?
- A: Some pieces are critically connected, but the key recommendations could be presented first, followed by subsequent recommendations for finer details.

The EC proposes that the CSR's term will continue into the fall semester. Those members who are available and willing will continue. Other members' terms end this semester.

VII. Presentation of the Naming Committee Recommendations – by Dean Marc d'Alarcao

The Dean of the College of Graduate Studies, Marc d'Alarcao, presented the recommendations of the *ad hoc* Naming Committee that was tasked to consider a name change of the south wing of Duncan Hall. The committee's recommendation was to rename the south wing from the previous name of **Wilbur H. Swanson Microbiology Laboratories** to **Patrick Hamill Science Laboratories**.

The EC members asked questions about the procedures involved in the renaming.

A motion to rename the south wing to Patrick Hamill Science Laboratories was made (French), seconded, and approved with unanimous vote.

VIII. The meeting adjourned at 1:30 p.m.

The minutes were taken by Julia Curry and Reiko Kataoka on April 22, 2024, reviewed and accepted by Senate Chair Karthika Sasikumar on April 29, 2024 The minutes were approved by the Senate Executive Committee on April XX, 2024.