Senate Executive Committee

Minutes of April 29, 2024 12:00 – 1:30 p.m. Clark 551

Present: Baur, Curry, Del Casino, Dukes, Faas, French, Fuentes-Martin, Hart, Kataoka, Multani, Sasikumar (Chair), Teniente-Matson, Wong

Absent: McKee, Sullivan-Green

Minutes taken by Hart

- 1. Approval of the agenda of April 29, 2024: unanimously approved
- 2. Approval of the minutes of the meeting of April 22, 2024: unanimously approved
- 3. Chair's update (none)
- 4. President's update
 - a. The commencement schedule is proceeding as planned with provisions being taken in the event of protests.
 - b. President is expecting to receive the reports from the six workgroups charged with reviewing and recalibrating divisions on campus
- 5. Naming Committee for CPGE; unanimously approved
- 6. Approval of the consent calendar, including the Policy committees with ConC Recommendations: unanimously approved
- 7. Recommendations of two Athletics Board members: unanimously approved
 - a. Miwa Merz (Marketing & Business Analytics)
 - b. Alaka Rao (School of Management)
- 8. Recommendation of one member for the University Sustainability Board
 - a. MeganThiele Strong (Sociology and Interdisciplinary Social Sciences): **recommended**
- 9. Selection of a Budget Advisory Committee member
 - a. 1 Faculty Senator: Thomas Madura (Physics & Astronomy): recommended for Seat G
 - b. 1 Faculty-at-Large member: Tabled because verification of interest and eligibility is needed.
- 10. Selection of a senator for the College of Engineering (Fall 2024)
 - a. Katy Kao: **approved**
- 11. Selection of a senator for the College of Engineering (2024-25)
 - a. Behin Elahi: approved
- 12. Selection of 5 faculty members to recommend to the president for the Provost Review Committee; applications are in the spreadsheet that was emailed. Recommended faculty members are:
- a. Peter Lee
- b. Ravisha Mathur

- c. Sabrina Pinnell
- d. Julian Vogel
- e. Hiu Yung Wong

The minutes were taken by Tabitha Hart on April 29, 2024, reviewed, and accepted by Senate Chair Karthika Sasikumar on May 2, 2024 The minutes were approved by the Senate Executive Committee on May 2, 2024.