## **ERFA Faculty Research and Creative Activity Awards**

Fact Sheet and Award Recipients

Inaugurated in AY 2014-2015, the ERFA Faculty Research and Creative Activity Awards have supported two faculty members yearly in order to advance the careers of the awardees by funding their scholarly and creative activities. The awards (\$3000 in AY 25-26) have been used by the awardees to hire student assistants, to travel to pursue their research and to present their work at conferences, and to acquire equipment related to their scholarly and creative endeavors.

Following a Request for Proposals (RFP), a Committee of the ERFA Board meets to review submitted proposals based on the following criteria:

- The project's demonstrated contribution to knowledge and scholarship in the applicant's discipline;
- The significance of the project to the discipline: and
- The applicant's ability to carry out the proposed project.

If you would like to donate to the ERFA Faculty Research and Creative Activity Awards fund, you can make a tax-deductible donation (unlike your dues) online or by check from our donations webpage:

## https://www.sjsu.edu/emeritusfaculty/donate.php

Your tax-deductible donation will be acknowledged with a letter from the Tower Foundation, listing the amount of your donation. We thank you for your support of this most worthy initiative of your SJSU ERFA organization.

Current and Past winners of the SJSU ERFA Faculty Research and Creative Activity Awards are:

Laura Miller Conrad- Department of Chemistry (2024-2025) Marie Haverfield- Department of Communication Studies (2024-2025) Marco Meniketti- Department of Anthropology (2024-2025)

Saili Kulkarni – Department of Special Education (2023-2024) Hiu Yung Wong – Department of Electrical Engineering (2023-2024)

Janet Bang – Department of Child and Adolescent Development (2022-2023) Anil Kumar – Department of Industrial & Systems Engineering (2022-2023)

Elisa Mattarelli – School of Management (2021-2022) Susan Ross – Department of Public Health & Recreation (2021-2022) Daryl Eggers – Department of Chemistry (2020-2021) Ryan Skinnell – Department of English & Comparative Literature (2021-2021)

Melinda Simon – Department of Biomedical Engineering (2019-2020) Gilles Muller – Department of Chemistry (2019-2020) Wes Maciejewski – Department of Mathematics & Statistics (2019-2020)

John Gieng – Department of Nutrition, Food Science & Packaging (2018-2019) Yoon Chung Han – Department of Design (2018-2019)

Ruma Chopra – Department of History (2017-2018) Alan Soldofsky – Department of English & Comparative Literature (2017-2018) Ningkun Wang – Department of Chemistry (2017-2018)

Nicole Dubus – School of Social Work (2016-2017) A.J. Faas – Department of Anthropology (2016-2017)

Faustina DuCros – Department of Sociology & Interdisciplinary Social Science (2015-2016) Katherine Harris – Department of English & Comparative Literature (2015-2016)

Patricia Albers – Department of Art & Art History (2014-2015) Emily Chan, Kathryn Blackmer Reyes, & Christina Mune – University Library (2014-2015)